Messy DIY and Crafting

I saw this on Pinterest and said “Want.”

inspiration petal border photo 17a9733638

And roughly $15 and about 20 hours of labor later, I have what I want:

Photo Feb 02, 10 33 54 AM DIY whit petal wedding aisle border DIY petal runner ivory border

Supplies:

Bags and Bags of Dollar Store Petals (300 petals per bag)–I suggest starting with at least 10 bags.

Roll of masking paper for painting (like you get at a home improvement store)

Glue–I started with regular white craft glue, but quickly changed to my trusted low-temp glue gun

Scissors and tape

Dye for Petals (optional, depending on your colors)–I just tea-stained mine to make them off white/ivory

Purple Pig Rating: Easy, not messy, but has “WOW” factor . 9.5 Oinks because it is awesome.

Steps:

There are lots of tutorials for DIY petal runners.  The big difference with mine is that I didn’t use tulle for the base.  I was at the home improvement store in the paint aisle and notices a 125′ of paper masking (like craft paper) in green that was a perfect match to our wedding colors.  It was $4, so I had to buy it. Some diy brides discuss gluing petals on tulle and the glue coming through the tulle (making it hard to work with). I had no problem like that using paper.

1. To make the edges, roll out the paper and fold in half. Mine is in 12.5′ sections.

Photo Jan 29, 8 16 17 PM

2. Cut your design on the folded side.

Photo Jan 29, 8 21 54 PM

3. The curly design is a series of arcs cut and taped together.  Overlay both sides on top of each other when taping so they are match.

Photo Jan 29, 8 28 18 PM Photo Jan 29, 8 28 44 PM Photo Jan 29, 9 00 10 PM

4. Optional Step: Dye/stain your petals.  These white petals from the dollar store are white-out white.  I’m an ivory girl.  So I boiled a big pot of water and dumped several cups of strong tea in it and brewed up some ivory petals.  I pulled them out at various times for subtle shade differences, rinsed and put in a salad spinner (yes a salad spinner) to dry off quickly.

5. Glue on petals.  Keep gluing, get more petals, keep going.  Bored? Keep gluing.

Put just a dot of glue on each petal, and stick the glued part under the “flap” of petal next to it to hide the glue spot.  Glue in different directions, and on top of one another. But I also found it easier to glue the edges first and then work inwards.  The look you want is dropped petals.

Photo Jan 29, 9 31 57 PM

I started with regular white kraft glue, but it took too long to dry, so I switched to low temp hot glue.  You hid your glue spots by only using a tiny drop and sticking that part under the petal next to it.

This picture just has the individual sections (6 in all, two side sections at 12.5′ each, and the two curly sections) just laying butted up to each other.  I will use tape the day of to attach them on site.

DIY whit petal wedding aisle border

(please ignore the bad photo stitch for this panorama shot.  I have limits with my iPhone).

Leave a Reply

